THE WILDLING SISTERS by Eve Chase
G.P. Putnam's Sons
5 star rating My Highly Caffeinated Thought: A perfect gothic novel with family drama, secrets, and the coming of age of young women almost fifty years apart.

I was so excited when I heard that Eve Chase was coming out with her newest book this summer. I loved…and I mean loved BLACK RABBIT HALL with its completely fresh voice and atmospheric tone. And now, with THE WILDLING SISTERS, she has done it again. This book is a dark and rich tale of heartbreak, loss, drama, love, and family. The author has the ability to weave together a story that is both haunting and heartfelt.

The Wildings Sisters Instagram 2

In the pages of this book, you will seamlessly flip back and forth in time to relive the history of Applecote Manor’s tragic past all the while getting to know the current residence of the Manor living there fifty years later. With a balance of past and present, I couldn’t help but get sucked into the mystery of the house simultaneously being fascinated by Jesse and her relationship with her step-daughter. Through every exquisitely crafted scene, the author honors the core of who each of her characters are all the while unraveling a mystery that has been unsolved for over a half a century.  Ugh…Guys…this story is so good!

I am truly in awe of Eve Chase. Her eloquence and storytelling is masterful. And just as I said after I read BLACK RABBIT HALL, I cannot wait for the next book from this author. All hail the Queen of Gothic Women’s Fiction. Eve Chase…you have a fan for life.

Reviewer Disclaimer: I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.


Plot Summary

the wildling sisters by eve chaseAn evocative novel in the vein of Kate Morton and Daphne Du Maurier, in which the thrill of first love clashes with the bonds of sisterhood, and all will be tested by the dark secret at the heart of Applecote Manor.

Four sisters. One summer. A lifetime of secrets.
 
When fifteen-year-old Margot and her three sisters arrive at Applecote Manor in June 1959, they expect a quiet English country summer. Instead, they find their aunt and uncle still reeling from the disappearance of their daughter, Audrey, five years before. As the sisters become divided by new tensions when two handsome neighbors drop by, Margot finds herself drawn into the life Audrey left behind. When the summer takes a deadly turn, the girls must unite behind an unthinkable choice or find themselves torn apart forever.

Fifty years later, Jesse is desperate to move her family out of their London home, where signs of her widower husband’s previous wife are around every corner. Gorgeous Applecote Manor, nestled in the English countryside, seems the perfect solution. But Jesse finds herself increasingly isolated in their new sprawling home, at odds with her fifteen-year-old stepdaughter, and haunted by the strange rumors that surround the manor.

Rich with the heat and angst of love both young and old, The Wildling Sisters is a gorgeous and breathtaking journey into the bonds that unite a family and the darkest secrets of the human heart.

Add to Goodreads

Find the book at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, and Penguin Random House.
Get the Audio Book at Audible.

The Wildings Sisters Instagram 1

About the Author: Eve Chase is the pseudonym of a journalist who has worked extensively across the British press. She lives in Oxford, England with her husband and three children.


Book Details

Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons (July 25, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0399174133
ISBN-13: 978-0399174131
Product Dimensions: 6.5 x 1.2 x 9.4 inches

LATEST BLOG POST

Welcome to the Highly Caffeinated Crazy!

For those of you who don’t know me from my former blog Art, Books, & Coffee, let me give you a little background on the crazy that is my world. I am a graphic designer/artist, author, avid reader, and coffee addict. The statement “add coffee for instant human” was invented for me. Trust me…you don’t want to know me without coffee in my system.

Read more:

LATEST BOOK REVIEW

Book Review for GARDEN OF LAMENTATIONS by Deborah Crombie

GARDEN OF LAMENTATIONS by Deborah CrombieSeries: Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James Novels (Book 17)  William Morrow Paperbacks  My Highly Caffeinated Thought: An in-depth mystery with complicated webs of lies, secrets, and murder.  GARDEN OF LAMENTATIONS is the 17th book in the Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James series. Though this book is the first I have ever read by the author, I have heard good things about the previous novels. I will be honest with you all, there is a lot going on in this story. Sometimes things got a bit confusing and I had to go back and read a passage or two in order to regain the plot.

Read more:

ART NEWS

Cultivating a Creative Culture

I recently had the chance to read Justin Dauer’s latest book CULTIVATING A CREATIVE CULTURE. The book centers around the premise that when dealing with employees having a human first attitude is key, especially creatives. By having an environment that is more open to embracing the person with all that they offer rather than filling the position, you may be surprised at what you get in return.

Read more:

 

SIGN UP FOR VICTORIA'S NEWSLETTER.

Don't worry we will never sell or share your information.