THE WILDLING SISTERS by Eve Chase
G.P. Putnam's Sons
5 star rating My Highly Caffeinated Thought: A perfect gothic novel with family drama, secrets, and the coming of age of young women almost fifty years apart.

I was so excited when I heard that Eve Chase was coming out with her newest book this summer. I loved…and I mean loved BLACK RABBIT HALL with its completely fresh voice and atmospheric tone. And now, with THE WILDLING SISTERS, she has done it again. This book is a dark and rich tale of heartbreak, loss, drama, love, and family. The author has the ability to weave together a story that is both haunting and heartfelt.

The Wildings Sisters Instagram 2

In the pages of this book, you will seamlessly flip back and forth in time to relive the history of Applecote Manor’s tragic past all the while getting to know the current residence of the Manor living there fifty years later. With a balance of past and present, I couldn’t help but get sucked into the mystery of the house simultaneously being fascinated by Jesse and her relationship with her step-daughter. Through every exquisitely crafted scene, the author honors the core of who each of her characters are all the while unraveling a mystery that has been unsolved for over a half a century.  Ugh…Guys…this story is so good!

I am truly in awe of Eve Chase. Her eloquence and storytelling is masterful. And just as I said after I read BLACK RABBIT HALL, I cannot wait for the next book from this author. All hail the Queen of Gothic Women’s Fiction. Eve Chase…you have a fan for life.

Reviewer Disclaimer: I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.


Plot Summary

the wildling sisters by eve chaseAn evocative novel in the vein of Kate Morton and Daphne Du Maurier, in which the thrill of first love clashes with the bonds of sisterhood, and all will be tested by the dark secret at the heart of Applecote Manor.

Four sisters. One summer. A lifetime of secrets.
 
When fifteen-year-old Margot and her three sisters arrive at Applecote Manor in June 1959, they expect a quiet English country summer. Instead, they find their aunt and uncle still reeling from the disappearance of their daughter, Audrey, five years before. As the sisters become divided by new tensions when two handsome neighbors drop by, Margot finds herself drawn into the life Audrey left behind. When the summer takes a deadly turn, the girls must unite behind an unthinkable choice or find themselves torn apart forever.

Fifty years later, Jesse is desperate to move her family out of their London home, where signs of her widower husband’s previous wife are around every corner. Gorgeous Applecote Manor, nestled in the English countryside, seems the perfect solution. But Jesse finds herself increasingly isolated in their new sprawling home, at odds with her fifteen-year-old stepdaughter, and haunted by the strange rumors that surround the manor.

Rich with the heat and angst of love both young and old, The Wildling Sisters is a gorgeous and breathtaking journey into the bonds that unite a family and the darkest secrets of the human heart.

Add to Goodreads

Find the book at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, and Penguin Random House.
Get the Audio Book at Audible.

The Wildings Sisters Instagram 1

About the Author: Eve Chase is the pseudonym of a journalist who has worked extensively across the British press. She lives in Oxford, England with her husband and three children.


Book Details

Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons (July 25, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0399174133
ISBN-13: 978-0399174131
Product Dimensions: 6.5 x 1.2 x 9.4 inches

 

SIGN UP FOR VICTORIA'S NEWSLETTER.

Don't worry we will never sell or share your information.