MY SISTER'S BONES by Nuala Ellwood
William Morrow Paperbacks
5 star ratingMy Highly Caffeinated Thought: This book is packed with suspense, twists, turns, and an ending that I didn't see coming. Loved every single word.

MY SISTER’S BONES is one of my favorite books of the year so far. This debut novel checks all the boxes for a completely addictive thriller. The author has created these beautifully flawed characters that pull you into a tale of secrets, lies, and pain. The psychological suspense is built by the careful unraveling of a complex web of memories from not only Kate, but her sister as well.

MY SISTER'S BONES

This book is smart, fast-paced, and all consuming. I loved the way that each part brought us closer to the shocking ending, but also brought us a few steps back as well. The author gives us just enough to make us think that we know what is going to happen, but then takes it all way within paragraphs.

To say that I loved this book would be an understatement. It is a must read for anyone who loves mysteries and suspense novel. Yet, it is also a book that goes beyond just the suspense and taps into honest human emotion. Loved this book! I cannot wait to see what is next from Ellwood.

  Reviewer Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher and TLC Book Tours in exchange for my honest review.


Plot Summary

my sisters bones coverIn the vein of Fiona Barton's The Widow and Renée Knight's Disclaimer, a psychological thriller about a war reporter who returns to her childhood home after her mother's death but becomes convinced that all is not well in the house next door—but is what she’s seeing real or a symptom of the trauma she suffered in Syria?

The One Person You Should Trust Is Lying to You…

Kate has spent fifteen years bringing global injustice home: as a decorated war reporter, she’s always in a place of conflict, writing about ordinary people in unimaginable situations. When her mother dies, Kate returns home from Syria for the funeral. But an incident with a young Syrian boy haunts her dreams, and when Kate sees a boy in the garden of the house next door—a house inhabited by an Iraqi refugee who claims her husband is away and she has no children—Kate becomes convinced that something is very wrong.

As she struggles to separate her memories of Syria from the quiet town in which she grew up—and also to reconcile her memories of a traumatic childhood with her sister’s insistence that all was not as Kate remembers—she begins to wonder what is actually true…and what is just in her mind.

In this gripping, timely debut, Nuala Ellwood brings us an unforgettable damaged character, a haunting , humanizing look at the Syrian conflict, and a deeply harrowing psychological thriller that readers won’t be able to put down.

Add to Goodreads

Find the book on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and HarperCollins.

About the Author: Nuala Ellwood is the daughter of an award-winning journalist. She was inspired by his experiences and those of foreign correspondents such as Marie Colvin and Martha Gellhorn to secure Arts Council funding for her research into PTSD for her debut psychological thriller MY SISTER’S BONES.

My Sister’s Bones tells the story of Kate Rafter, a troubled war reporter who has just been through a harrowing ordeal in Syria. When her mother dies Kate returns to her childhood home, a place her estranged sister has never left, and becomes convinced there is a crime being committed in the house next door. As Kate struggles with the horrors of her past we are led to question the validity of her claims and ask if what we are seeing is but a strange trick of the eye.

To find out more, visit her website and Twitter @nualawrites.

My Sister's Bones on table


Book Details

Paperback: 416 pages
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (July 11, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062661965
ISBN-13: 978-0062661968
Product Dimensions: 5.3 x 0.9 x 8 inches

LATEST BLOG POST

Welcome to the Highly Caffeinated Crazy!

For those of you who don’t know me from my former blog Art, Books, & Coffee, let me give you a little background on the crazy that is my world. I am a graphic designer/artist, author, avid reader, and coffee addict. The statement “add coffee for instant human” was invented for me. Trust me…you don’t want to know me without coffee in my system.

Read more:

LATEST BOOK REVIEW

Book Review for HANNA WHO FELL FROM THE SKY by Christopher Meades

HANNA WHO FELL FROM THE SKY by Christopher Meades Park Row   My Highly Caffeinated Thought: An emotionally charged look at faith and discovering your own truths in a coming of age tale.  HANNA WHO FELL FROM THE SKY is in its simplest form a coming of age story. It follows Hanna on her journey to figuring out a path into a new phase in her life as well as realizing just how different she is from all the others in community of Clearhaven.

Read more:

ART NEWS

Cultivating a Creative Culture

I recently had the chance to read Justin Dauer’s latest book CULTIVATING A CREATIVE CULTURE. The book centers around the premise that when dealing with employees having a human first attitude is key, especially creatives. By having an environment that is more open to embracing the person with all that they offer rather than filling the position, you may be surprised at what you get in return.

Read more:

 

SIGN UP FOR VICTORIA'S NEWSLETTER.

Don't worry we will never sell or share your information.