THE OWL ALWAYS HUNTS AT NIGHT by Samuel Bjørk Instagram

Penguin Books
4 star ratingMy Highly Caffeinated Thought: A dark and tense follow-up to I'M TRAVELING ALONE.

THE OWL ALWAYS HUNTS AT NIGHT is a suspenseful, dark, and haunting crime mystery that will no doubt have you staying up to find out how it all ends. Bjork brings back two of my favorite detectives, Holger Munch & Mia Kruger, to solve a case that can only be described as disturbingly haunting.

Even though the two have been apart for a little while, a murder that can only be solved with Mia’s help brings the partners back together. There are two elements of this series that really stand out for me. The first is the relationship between Mia and Holger. Their interactions and as well as the characters’ moments spent inside their own heads are such an amazing part of the series. If you just had Mia and her own issues leading the story it would be great, but by having the added element of Holger and his baggage, Bjork just expands the narrative even more. The honesty within these deeply flawed characters draws the reader into whatever case they are on. The second is the way that the reader learns about the case through the investigation. Bringing in the police procedure and elements of how Holger runs the case allows the reader to unravel the mystery right along with them.

Series Note: THE OWL ALWAYS HUNTS AT NIGHT is follow up novel to one of my favorite Nordic Noir Crime Novels, I’M TRAVELING ALONE. Though I still love the first in the series a bit more, I was completely addicted to this book. If you are thinking about reading Bjork’s Holger Munch & Mia Kruger series, I would definitely tell you to start at book one. Though you technically don’t have to, you should. I’M TRAVELING ALONE is just too good to pass up on.

Reviewer Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.

Plot Summary:

THE OWL ALWAYS HUNTS AT NIGHT by Samuel BjørkThe thrilling follow-up to Samuel Bjørk’s internationally bestselling I'm Traveling Alone, which The Wall Street Journal calls “tense and smartly constructed” 

When a troubled teenager disappears from an orphanage and is found murdered, her body arranged on a bed of feathers, veteran investigator Holger Munch and his team are called into the case. Star investigator Mia Kruger, on temporary leave while she continues to struggle with her own demons, jumps back on the team and dives headfirst into this case: just in time to decode the clues in a disturbing video of the victim before she was killed, being held prisoner like an animal in a cage.

Meanwhile, Munch’s daughter, Miriam, meets an enticing stranger at a party—a passionate animal rights activist who begins to draw her into his world and away from her family. 

Munch, Kruger, and the team must hunt down the killer before he can strike again in this sophisticated, intricately plotted psychological thriller by the newest phenomenon in international crime fiction.

Add to Goodreads

Find the book at Amazon, iBooks, and Barnes & Noble

About the Author: Samuel Bjørk is the pen name of Norwegian novelist, playwright and singer/songwriter Frode Sander Øien.

Bjørk’s first installment in the Mia and Munch Series, I’m Traveling Alone, is an international success story that has gained critical acclaim and captivated readers all over the world, including hitting #1 on German newspaper Der Spiegel‘s bestseller list.

Samuel Bjørk has been compared to the likes of both Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbø, and has proved himself to be a force to be reckoned with in the crime genre.

Book Details:

Paperback: 368 pages
Publisher: Penguin Books (June 6, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0143110403
ISBN-13: 978-0143110408


Welcome to the Highly Caffeinated Crazy!

For those of you who don’t know me from my former blog Art, Books, & Coffee, let me give you a little background on the crazy that is my world. I am a graphic designer/artist, author, avid reader, and coffee addict. The statement “add coffee for instant human” was invented for me. Trust me…you don’t want to know me without coffee in my system.

Read more:


Book Review for GARDEN OF LAMENTATIONS by Deborah Crombie

GARDEN OF LAMENTATIONS by Deborah CrombieSeries: Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James Novels (Book 17)  William Morrow Paperbacks  My Highly Caffeinated Thought: An in-depth mystery with complicated webs of lies, secrets, and murder.  GARDEN OF LAMENTATIONS is the 17th book in the Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James series. Though this book is the first I have ever read by the author, I have heard good things about the previous novels. I will be honest with you all, there is a lot going on in this story. Sometimes things got a bit confusing and I had to go back and read a passage or two in order to regain the plot.

Read more:


Cultivating a Creative Culture

I recently had the chance to read Justin Dauer’s latest book CULTIVATING A CREATIVE CULTURE. The book centers around the premise that when dealing with employees having a human first attitude is key, especially creatives. By having an environment that is more open to embracing the person with all that they offer rather than filling the position, you may be surprised at what you get in return.

Read more:



Don't worry we will never sell or share your information.